What Does A Plea to Wet Reckless Mean in California?

By otmseo on August 24, 2020

In California, you face a lesser punishment for pleading to Wet Reckless than to a DUI conviction.

While a DUI carries a Mandatory 3 month Alcohol class, Wet Reckless a 12 hour class.

There are usually lower fines for a Wet Reckless.

It does not have the same insurance consequences.

A Wet Reckless doesn’t result in a Court ordered Suspension of your license, but you may still face a Suspension at the DMV.

You don’t need to install an ignitition interlock device (IID) with a wet reckless.

The “Wet” Reckless is priorable as a DUI. So if you get arrested for DUI again within 10 years, you can be charged as though the Wet Reckless is a prior conviction of DUI.

If you plead guilty to “Wet Reckless” and take the Misdemeanor conviction, it is a Conviction. If you fight your DUI and win, you can avoid having a Conviction on your record.

Should you fight the case and lose, it’s a DUI Conviction.

DMV Consequences of a Wet Reckless.

You can get a second DMV Review Hearing by filing a DS 702 if your DUI charges are dismissed.

You need to submit the DS 702 showing a not guilty on the DUI to obtain a Helmondollar. A Helmandollar Plea involves negotiating a plea to Wet Reckless or something else. Then, rather than dismissing the .08 or above count, there is a Mini-Bench Trial wherein the DA doesn’t present any evidence. The Defense makes a PC 1118.1 Motion to dismiss. The judge grants the Motion and the Defendant is Acquitted of the .08 charge. You then submit proof of the Not Guilty finding is submitted to the DMV and the Suspension is set aside.

Be aware that the DMV requires completion of an alcohol awareness class to get your license back after a plea to a Wet Reckless where there is a DMV Suspension.

If you’ve been arrested for a DUI and need to fight your case, call me at 213-479-5322 to discuss fighting and winning your case.

Category: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,